Township Government


Franklin Township is one of the nine townships of Marion County, Indiana, United States. Located in the southeast corner of the county, it has been subsumed into the city of Indianapolis along with most of the rest of the county. It contains the communities of Acton, Wanamaker and the eastern portion of the excluded city of Beech Grove.

Franklin Township was organized in the 1820s. Franklin Township is one of the last areas in Marion County to see heavy suburban land development from the outward expansion of Indianapolis. This is primarily because of a history of family farms in the area, but is also due to various civic efforts to maintain a rural atmosphere in the area over time.

The population of the township as of the 2010 census was 54,594, up from 32,080 in 2000.

The township has a median income of $70,000.